I saw a clip on tiktok of a movie I thought looked interesting. In the clip, a disabled boy and his mom were in a grocery store. The boy was accompanied by a service animal, a small monkey. A woman got mad and confronted the family about the animal. Later it showed the same angry woman protesting the service animal outside the family home.

I instantly ran to the comments to see if anyone had offered the name of the movie. Thankfully someone had done just that. The clip was from “Gigi & Nate”. The commenter also provided the info that it’s streaming on Hulu.

One of the first things that caught my eye in the movie was the father. He looked so familiar. I racked my brain for the whole opening thirty minutes. I was certain it was Jim Belushi, but it couldn’t be. He’s dead. Isn’t he? I was absolutely certain that he was. So I googled the movie and, HE LIVES!

About halfway through the movie I realized that the monkey might just be CGI in some scenes. It’s amazing how flawless it is! Im pretty sure this wasn’t a big production, but you wouldn’t be able to tell.

So rarely am I drawn into a movie and moved to emotion. I actually felt invested in the stakes and outcomes of the story. I was glued to the screen and couldn’t look away.

When the end of the movie came, it was a real ‘feel good’ ending. It made me smile, and I felt satisfied with the outcome. That’s also when I learned that this is a true story.

The acting is amazing, the special effects are incredible, the editing, score, and overall quality is just superb. As someone who struggles with ADHD, I find it hard to focus on things such as movies. Even in the theater, I’ll need a trip to the bathroom for a break. Though this movie, which is long at 2 hours, commanded my attention every second.

Im not great at reviewing things. Which is why I opted to make this my thoughts, not a review. Though if I were to give it a rating I would go 5/5 stars!

Leave a comment